Movie: Dragon Age: Dawn of the Seeker

Dragon-age-poster

May contain spoilers for both Dragon Age 2 and the movie.

The movie, the animated movie made by Bioware and FUNimation, wasn’t the best animated movie I’ve ever seen.
The whole story, as I saw it, is that it’s mixed between the time of the first Dragon Age game but is all about the character Cassandra Pentaghast, the woman interrogating Varric about Hawke in the game, and as I hate Dragon Age 2, the thought was with me as I started to play the movie that it was going to suck, tho I was wrong. Just a little wrong…

I’m not saying that it didn’t suck, some scenes were rather cool with all the dragons and ‘omen’ children but it still had the feeling of DA2 all over it, and neither the story nor the characters could help it. As for the mages, why didn’t they use their awesome magic? Instead of going hand to hand in combat against their enemies…

What I really liked about the movie was that finally the woman was the hero as well as not being a damsel in distress at all. There needs to be more women in both games and movies that can truly kick ass.

Another rather negative thing is that it were only released in US and Japan, or so I’ve heard anyways.

So it seems that this post became a rather raging one but the story of Dragon Age is really awesome, as least the first game and I would LOVE to see that in a movie someday, a true tribute instead of this.

Well I would love to see a true tribute to any RPG that I love but that will never happen as we have Uwe Boll to thank for that…

Now I will end as it’s just getting worse, so see the movie at your own risk.

….Bioware, snap out of it, get back to your old self and screw EA!

One thought on “Movie: Dragon Age: Dawn of the Seeker

  1. Ahhh, I remember watching this! :O Actually a very good animated film for a game. I need to play Dragon Age though…The first anyway. Haven’t heard good things about the second, in terms of story.

    Oh, also, I suggest the Dead Space films! Very gory, but another set of fun animated films about games 🙂

    Like

Thanks for reading, please leave a comment!