Mass Effect: Andromeda, what a sad disaster…

intro
So, quite few days ago I finished Andromeda and I couldn’t really bring myself to blog about it. Yet another disaster and I didn’t really wanna have to rant. Again. But here I am, going to rant about what a shitty game this really is. Maybe I should start out with what few points Andromeda really did well. Sadly I can count them on one hand.

The cast is great, the missions for them are fun and somewhat different from the other quests that were in the original franchise. There were some great arcs and fun quests to do. Though I can’t in my wildest dreams understand why people love “Phoebe”. She was really poorly done with a cliche personality. Sure, Cora were the same, as well as Vetra. Yay, the female cast including Ryder sucked. Woho.
However, the movie quest must have been one of the most fun quests I’ve ever done. I just wished it could have been grander and maybe incorporated romance a bit.
Ryder

Some of the scenes were nice, when there actually was a cutscene which really didn’t happen often. The game sure lacked those compared to the original Mass Effect. Even though the companions were nice, the romance options were lacking, once again. I had to pick between two guys or what felt like every female in game. Sure I’m all for romance between sexes but do I really have to be force fed it myself? Do I really need to go lesbian to enjoy some romance? How come guys can get so much more than females? Well, at least I got to see some man ass, even though the sex scenes faded to black.

Overall the gameplay was poor. It lacked the deepness and story that I associate with Mass Effect. You went from planet to planet, time and time again, without it ever feeling like an open world game. The quests just kept coming, more empty than the last. In the end, I just finished the main quest as fast as I could as I was sick of it. I tried to like it for what it was but it was just to poor. The loading times were the worst. Took forever to just start the game, and that was before the title screen. It loaded just as slow after. I managed to do millions of things in between, which made it just that much worse.

Speaking of long loading screens, the game crashed on a few occasions as well, making me wait longer for the loading than I actually spent playing the game some days. Throw in some other glitches like companions staying dead until I reload, some people hang the game when I talk to them and that some battles were like a slideshow, and there you have Andromeda. I play on a beast of a machine so lag shouldn’t be a problem.

Also, the fact that I played on low graphics should have helped, right? Not at all. I played on low graphics as I couldn’t stand the stupid “bookeh” and other strange effects. The low graphic settings made the game more beautiful, what gives?

The game didn’t give me any sense of achievement either. It had neither good quest rewards nor a want to level up as it didn’t have any skills that I really wanted to invest in. In the end I just placed some points to get anything, but I still finished the game with many points left not spent. The enemies were few but reused way to many times, in multiple boring battles that just seemed to go on forever.
light
Speaking of forever, I really could go on forever with all the downsides of Andromeda but then the post would be way to long. I couldn’t have been more disappointed with this game. Even Skyrim with its lack in everything and DA: Inquisition with the overly buggy hands were better than this. Where did it all go so wrong?

Overall, a poor game for a short spanned and young generation. I’m pondering if I’ll even play the next Mass Effect coming out, I don’t think so.

2 responses to “Mass Effect: Andromeda, what a sad disaster…

Thanks for reading, please leave a comment!

