Tyranny – Where your inner, most dark kinks comes to life.

header“The second she steps in through the gates, the camp stops and fall completely silent. If it is her or the beastwoman following in her footsteps that they stare at, she don’t know for sure. But she assume it is both.
“Fatebinder!” A slender man calls out, as he walks to meet them. His glance shifts nervously to the beastwoman before looking back at the Fatebinder and clearing his throat. Though he never meet her gaze, not even once.
“Am I to assume that I wasn’t worthy enough to be met by the leader himself?” The Fatebinder crosses her arms over her chest with a not so amused look on her face.
“N-no… I…” The slender man bows deeply as he starts to excuse himself.
“No what? Speak properly or I’ll cut your throat right where you stand.” The beastwoman crouches down beside her, yet taller than her still.
“Gut him. If Alpha will not, Kills-Swiftly will. Gut-Gut-Fast.” The Fatebinder glances to the beastwoman, a curious smirk creeping across her face.
“Think you can rip him in two with just one attack?”
The eagerness shines in the crimson eyes of the beastwoman, and with a slight nod from the Fatebinder, the creature attacks. Her giant, razor sharp paws are lightning fast. Soon the man’s entrails decorate the ground, and the onlookers stare in fright while the beastwoman licks her claws.

“If your leader isn’t here soon, I’ll just have to torch your pathetic little village.” And with that, she casually moves her right hand, forming the symbol of fire. Within seconds, a small outhouse catches fire and people start to run around in panic.” – Written by me.

So, this morning I finished a RPG called Tyranny and I have to say that compared to many “RPGs” that float around nowadays, this one is truly worth playing. Though “Gather your party before venturing forth” is starting to get really old.

First of, the story. You play as the bad girl (or guy) for once and even in that regard, you can be merciful or you can be slaughtering anything and anyone. Mostly. Though, the story might not be the deepest, nor have the most impact, and it is rather short, but the fact that you have so many choices in every situation makes it really interesting.

You really just go through the game with a handful of quests, kill enemies and then finish it up while wondering: “Wait, is it already over? Huh.” At least the graphics are nice, but very similar to Pillars of Eternity. Neither of them really could capture the feel and mood from classics like Baldur’s Gate, but it’s still nice to look at.

Many times in games I wish I could do this, and that I could do that. Especially in games where you have choices but in the end, it all goes in one direction anyhow. With this game, I really feel as if I could do many more things and change more outcomes. Even change up the ending more. There were quite a few ending slides and I could have changed them all with a few other choices which is really cool. Despite all of these choices, there weren’t any romance but I suppose it would have been strange.

I played this as a mage, and as I was using some of my followers from time to time during battle, I quickly realized that it was really the best way to play it. The spells aren’t given to you, you need to mix up different symbols to make different ones. And you really need a high lore later on in the game to be able to mix the strongest ones.

One thing about playing as a mage was the fact that the game seemed to be more towards a “stronger” character as much of the choices to kill/threaten/hurt people often fell into the strength requirements aka the athletics skill, it goes up more and more depending on how much you climb, even though I would have wished that it could be different for those who aren’t playing that type of  character.

For example, my character had really poor strength though moderate athletic skill, but really high intelligence. Still, she took people by the throat and held them out towards cliff edges or pushed people. This is all fun and dandy, but I would have wished for a bit more things that would have included maybe magic, mind control, or more intelligent things instead of just brute force.

The characters in this game was rather fun to interact with, as you could gain both their loyalty and their fear. It reminded me a bit of my followers in KotOR, where I managed to get Zaalbar to kill Mission. Mohaha.
Though there were some strange moments as well. For example, Barik is one of those characters that were part of the Disfavored. A faction I screw over completely as I always sided with the Scarlet Chorus. Still he followed me, despite his remarks and all (I had barely no loyalty with him). However towards the end he got overly depressed and by just saying one line, he got so grateful and would follow me wherever, and he did. Feels rather random as I thought he’d leave me sooner rather than later.

In the end, the game is really enjoyable and I will probably replay it as all the choices really gives me a reason. If you haven’t tried it already, you really should.
0bb537i

Thanks for reading, please leave a comment!

