DIY: 3Doodler magic into a candle holder.

light
So, for my birthday a couple of weeks ago, my boyfriend gave me a 3Doodler. A 3Doodler is a 3D pen that enables you to paint outside the box, so to say. You use plastic sticks in a thing shaped like a pen, and it lets you paint in, well… 3D. It’s so impressive to be able to paint straight up in the air from your paper and it stays there. I love it.

I have been using it a little bit after I got it, but I figured that I should really try to do something. It is way fun to use, and only your creativity is the limit. The plastic comes in all different colors, transparency and bendability.

It is a bit tricky to get used to but not before long, I figured out what to do as my first “big” project. A candle holder. I doodled the sides and the bottom before gluing them all together. The gluing part was actually harder to get right than the doodling itself.

Not before long, the glue had dried and my candle holder is ready for use. One side holds a Triforce (from The Legend of Zelda) that gives of a really nice silhouette on the wall, and on the other side there’s a leaf that does the same.

Have you ever tried a 3Doodler yourself? Did you love it as much as I do?

10 responses to “DIY: 3Doodler magic into a candle holder.

  1. Pingback: DIY: Decorating with beads. | I Hate Loading Screens

  2. It looks like a really nice candle holder.

    I’ve never tried one myself though, how much material did it use to make it?
    You make a note that there are a number of colours, what colours did you use for this one?

    Do you have other plans for something more you can do with this pen?

    Like

    • All in all, it took maybe about 15-20 plastic sticks and I used silver, purple, and brown. Now brown might have been a poor choice but all other colors were neon ones and it actually fit rather well.

      I do have some plans for it, there’s a lot that can be made with plastic like this.

      Like

Thanks for reading, please leave a comment!

