Fallout 4, what happened?

fallout_4_logo
So, I just finished Fallout 4 and I suppose that it’s a good game if it were standalone.

First of, “War never changes,” worked once, maybe twice but to start off this game with a monologue that has it in the opening line. Then once more in the end of the starting monologue, somewhere in the middle of the game AND end the game with it, wth? That just felt poor after the second use, and I couldn’t help but chuckle.

Secondly, what happened to the skills? Changed into these poor “perks” that aren’t even close to as good as they used to be, nor as many. I found myself cursing at the limited options and the fact that it doesn’t seem to separate energy weapons and regular ones. Only automated or manual, I can’t even…

Thirdly, the little Vault Boy is animated, with horrible sounds? Where is the gritty, old school ad feeling that the game used to have? Now he’s an animated cartoon to laugh at?

Fourthly, what the hell happened to the “romance”? Really, that’s all you can muster up? A few stupid quests and a vague comment of being together now or something? No kissing, no sex, no anything? Oh, my mistake, we get a new sleep “perk”, if the guy/girl is around, I can’t even comprehend how people find this acceptable.

While that’s a lot of negative things, the game isn’t all bad. The game does have some really nice graphics, albeit a little cartoonish at times. The character creation is really fun to tweak with and the story, albeit being a complete American baby cliche, is somewhat entertaining. And if one looks past the finding of a stupid baby, twists in a somewhat nice way later on in the game.

What else is there to say? I like the way that raiders and other nasty things camp around the towns and settlements. I felt that it would most likely happen. Even though I curse countless of times for having to run my ass off.

Speaking of settlements, the building aspect of the game is a fun feature but so poorly made. Buildings hoover above ground, things attach together in the most frustrating ways and the weapon racks can only fit 1 gun, even if it the holder fits a entire wall. Yay.

The conversations were a bit cringe worthy, the persuasion options were a bit cheesy. For example when asking for more caps in a quest, the options would for example always come three times. Two a little easier and one “harder.” It made me chuckle on a few occasions. Why anyone be just as persuadable as the next guy?

I so wanted to love this game. I loved Fallout 3 and New Vegas, I enjoyed the time I spent in Fallout 2 but I just wanted this game to end. The “choices” in the game just made it more cringe worthy.

All in all, this stupid game would be redeemable with mods, but with the new perk system and the fact that she has a voice now limits good mods immensely.

I don’t know if I should recommend this or not… Maybe someone will enjoy this.

screenshot15

War… War never changes. Apparently.

3 responses to “Fallout 4, what happened?

Thanks for reading, please leave a comment!

