State of Decay, why does the cars have to break so easily?

state-of-decay-sold-2-million-copies
Day 9.

We’ve been barricaded in here for days now, the food is almost running out and we lost James last night. The man on the radio still urges us to stay inside, but this is starting to feel really bad. This was not what we expected when we came to the mountains for our annual camping trip.
Sun is already setting again, I can see the light move through the wooden boards that the windows are covered with. Me, Julia and Anne are the only ones here after James died, we’re locked inside a little food shop in what feels like the middle of nowhere.
According to random girl on another radio we found, there are supposed to be survivors in an abandoned church in a small town not far from us. James pushed us into going but on the way there we ran into a shitload of those mindless things and had to seek the nearest cover. It was all ready boarded up, so all we had to do was lock the door. So here we are now…

Spoilers!

So, the other night I “finished” State of Decay, and I say “finished” as the ending isn’t really a proper ending and more of a “I’ll show you what’s out there, and some credits but then I’ll rewind to just before the quest so you can play on”. Somehow in my mind, I expected more than that, but I suppose my hopes were way to high.

The game itself is rather addictive with killing zombies, gathering resources and finding the perfect home for your survives to live and upgrade. There are mission quests, a really thin main story and a few side quests besides the gathering and car wrecking.
019
I didn’t even know there were a main story before I realized that a certain group of people kept asking for things or doing things with my group that I understood that they must be it. So that wasn’t to good, but then again, I was way to busy with hoarding anyhow.

My cars kept breaking and exploding often as I keep using them to kill every zombie horde I see. It’s far more fun to slaughter them with a car than worry about breaking it. There are way to many cars around not to kill every horde you see.

Also having to drive a car everywhere, is a rather nice way to move around. You can walk, but between area A to B there is to much distance, to many zombies and your stamina is depleted to fast. The visuals are easily rather admirable when driving around in a car. There’s farms, small towns, mountains and forests. It made me feel like I could drive forever, until I saw a large horde and without thinking more of it, I slammed into them and my car burst into flames. Yay.
011
You can level up your survivors, but only the ones you control can gain skills and other things. You should preferably keep using many of them otherwise when someone dies, you’re back on square one.

Also, the game never stops except for when you hit ESC. As you turn it off, it continues in the background so when you come back, your best gatherer could have died or some sort. I found this both annoying and rather cool as I could set a building to be built during the night as it takes some real time to finish them.

There aren’t really much more  to say about this other than it can either drag you in or push you away. I suppose it is one of those love or hate games. I kind of loved it even though I thought I wouldn’t. It is worth a try at least.

5 responses to “State of Decay, why does the cars have to break so easily?

  1. I like how you’re describing driving arond until you saw a large horde… Yay 😛
    Does it feel like the open world aspect of the game affects the lackluster main story?

    The real time clock variation sounds very interesting, could be used in other type of games as well in a good way.

    Like

Thanks for reading, please leave a comment!

