Ranting as usual.

large
So, games today, are they just something to buy and show off to friends only? The more games you have to show, the longer your e-penis is? The more achievements you have, the greater your skills are?

I’ve seen and talked to people who show off their mile long lists from Steam, only to make me realize that most games on those lists have one or more versions or other things that make the lists longer.

I’ve also heard about people buying any and all games, even games for younger children, to earn more achievements that give little to no hassle. Doesn’t anyone nowadays have any strive or sense of accomplishment?

Kids grow bored with games for no real reason and change to another like I change my socks. They think games are to hard, to long, to boring and/or to unrealistic. They juggle multiple games only to be accepted at school or wherever and think they have the right to use titles like “Gamer” when they’re simply players who can’t even commit in the slightest.

This is a topic that might be old news on my blog but it never cease to amaze me. It makes my insides boil whenever I hear about it.

12 responses to “Ranting as usual.

  1. I remember those sticker albums in my youth (and yes, I’m that old πŸ˜› ). I think it’s kinda like that. As Jasyla says, some people are just hoarders.
    Personally I’m more the quality over quantity gal myself, but then… if they want to have dozens of games of which they played an hour each at most… gaming ADHD, that’s what I call it.

    Like

      • Is it disrespect when they think they are doing it right? Or is it sad misinformation? Personally, I pity those “gamers” that think it’s about as many games as you can possibly collect, since they’ll never find the joy of immersing oneself in a really good one. They don’t even get the chance to find out if it’s good.
        Those are the people who, when older, go over to the “games are bad for you” side or simply stop playing because they lose interest altogether.

        I’m more nervous about the trend – I’m on Raptr you see – that in median people seem to play an hour a week or less… and call themselves gamers. Now -that- is mindboggling to me.

        Like

        • I suppose pity is a good word for it, but I’ve gone over to the simple facepalm phase, where I can’t really have a conversation with people who has such bad opinions and thoughts about games.

          That is truly mindboggling, to say the least. But then again, working gamers do have so little time for so much epic games to play. Ok, maybe not so many good new games nowadays but still.

          Like

          • It’s like any other hobby. And most working non-gamers find enough time to watch the dull TV shows, so we should have that time to play non-dull games. πŸ˜‰
            I’m all for games over TV, personally. I really am in no hurry to watch the next season of [CountryX]’s Superstar or something like that. It’s even embarassing to watch…

            Too many hobbies, not enough time. πŸ˜‰ Isn’t that always how it goes? *holds up her pen* really now, gaming or writing…
            Though I just finished Inquisition… again. πŸ™‚ I love the Credits after Trespasser. Cassandra’s voice actress should be given a medal.

            Like

            • Yeah, I suppose you’re right. I am trying to balance series, movies and games so it’s either or, or a little here and a little there. Damn all the things I wanna do in life, give me more hours in the day!

              I haven’t played Inquisition yet, my computer had the idea to only work with 32bit so until I buy a new one, I’ll have to wait.

              Liked by 1 person

              • Ah well, you should get around to it some time. It’s well worth it (says the fangirl πŸ˜‰ ). I love the story. The characters are great. And the soundtrack… damn, that soundtrack is really, really amazing.

                But yeah, more hours would be fab. Or more money for less work… *ponders* would result in the same thing. πŸ™‚ Or winning the lottery, then I’d have time.

                Like

                • I will, though hearing from people that it is just like DA2 scares me quite a bit. I hated that game.

                  I’d still say more hours, having the whole day still doesn’t cut it when you need to do all the things beside work that life demands of you.

                  Like

                  • it is WHAT? πŸ™‚ Sorry, I had to recover from a very surprised gape here.

                    No worries, it is really not like DA2. And that’s from someone who actually liked that game (mostly). That’s a bit like comparing Baldur’s Gate and Skyrim.
                    Though the story is still Bioware – and any Bioware story I’ve as of yet encountered was good πŸ˜‰
                    The scale is much bigger, the story has a lot more time to evolve, the history background and little tidbids of world info – if you like something like that, I do – are really amazing and I LOVE the group banter. If you won’t play the game, look it up on youtube. The banter is adorable πŸ™‚

                    Like

                    • So, it’s more like DA:O instead then,? Going back to the roots so to say.

                      I do love a good banter but no banter is better than that in Baldur’s Gate

                      Like

Thanks for reading, please leave a comment!

