Hells bells, finally I got to play Pillars of Eternity!

pe-logo-915x585
So, I just finished Pillars of Eternity and I have to say that despite having huge doubts going in, the game overall is actually really nice. It is beautiful and the story writing was rather epicly done with lots of descriptiveness.

Though, as I have been following this since it started under the name Project Eternity, all I’ve heard was how it would go back to the roots, to old school RPGs like Baldur’s Gate, Planescape: Torment and such. Having huge names working on this game, I had hoped for more but sadly they came really short in that regard.

The game has nothing similar to the game’s principles that they said would be the inspiration. Baldur’s Gate with the epic romances, charm and character interactions, Planescape: Torment with its gruesome and gritty story, and mature feel and Icewind Dale with the combat style.

The game lacks the chance to romance, memorable characters and good interaction over all. There is really no mature content, gritty feel nor a story that makes you feel satisfied when finishing it, on the contrary the game ended as I was getting the feeling that it had just started.

The combat is nice, but rather dumbed down in the use of spells and the fact that everyone attacks with all they got on the push of a button, where Baldur’s Gate for example forced you to strategically click on your companions to not make the mages/wizards go to the front with their teeny tiny daggers (if they had those).
PillarsOfEternity04
But, surprise surprise, the game actually have some good points.
As I said before, the game is really beautiful, has some really nice writing and a good story even though the souls thing and forgetting is a lot like Planescape: Torment.
I did like the characters, mostly Edér and Aloth as they talked the most and had the most interesting things to say where as I didn’t really feel that the rest were anything memorable except the Grieving mother who had some really nice writing and story.

The “scriped interactions” is a really nice touch to exploring, making it feel as if you were actually climbing around, meeting peril that maybe isn’t really present in many games in the same way. It made me feel like my characters, despite what they were good at, did have a shot to help me, instead of me cursing under my breath because my character didn’t have that skill.

Overall, I felt this game was worth the playthrough in its own, and it gave me a sense of old school again that I’ve been missing a lot. I do hope games like Torment: Tides of Numenera, that’s coming out sooner or later, will be following in the same steps even though they don’t have neither the people nor the background to make it.

For those of you that haven’t played yet, you should.

 

3 responses to “Hells bells, finally I got to play Pillars of Eternity!

  1. Pingback: Tyranny – Where your inner, most dark kinks comes to life. | I Hate Loading Screens

  2. Pillars…
    The game I should play but yet haven’t.

    What would you say is the main reason to play this game? Is it because of the writing?
    The combat? The characters? What made you pushing on through the game even after you felt
    it didn’t have anything similar to the old titles that were supposed to be their inspiration?

    Do you feel they perhaps went with the route the did in an attempt to appease to people that haven’t
    tried Baldur’s Gate, Planescape: Torment and so on? That they wanted to try and make the genre come back to live in a way?

    To finish this post off, perhaps a new set of eyes when it comes to Torment: Tides of Numenera can be a good thing?

    Like

    • You should play it.

      The main reason for the game alone, I think is the writing and story. What made me push though was the fact that I’ve been waiting for this game for so many years, plus the story was nice.

      Yeah, they absolutely made this game for the new kids rather than the old ones, even though they made it more old school.

      Ah I dunno, the makers of Numenera, has done MMOs and such in the past so my hopes are so low for that.

      Like

Thanks for reading, please leave a comment!

