Gaming Questionnaire (From the blog: Cannot Be Tamed)

  1. When did you start playing video games?
    – 
    I started playing games when I was around maybe 12 or so.
  2. What is the first game you remember playing?
    First game I can properly remember playing is King’s Quest VI: Absence Makes The Heart Go Yonder… 
  3. PC or Console?
    – 
    PC, however console have a few pearls.
  4. XBox, PlayStation, or Wii?
    – 
    I have to say Playstation though I like Xbox as well.
  5. What’s the best game you’ve ever played?
    – 
    Baldur’s Gate 2/Planescape: Torment.
  6. What’s the worst game you’ve ever played?
    – 
    Dinner Date, Dear Ester, Gone Home, just to name a few that really bugged me.
  7. Name a game that was popular/critically adored that you just didn’t like.
    – 
    Skyrim, the Elder Scrolls series is just going downwards…
  8. Name a game that was poorly received that you really like.
    – 
    Alpha Protocol, I can’t for the life of me understand why people don’t like it.
  9. What are your favourite game genres?
    – 
    RPG, without a doubt.
  10. Who is your favourite game protagonist?
    – 
    Jodie Holmes, Beyond: Two souls. Hands down.
  11. Describe your perfect video game.
    – 
    Mix Baldur’s Gate 2 together with Planescape: Torment and add a dash of FF9.
  12. What video game character do have you have a crush on?
    – 
    Xan, the doomed elf in Baldur’s Gate 1 (and as a mod to Baldur’s Gate 2). None can ever take his place.
  13. What game has the best music?
    Hard to choose but Legend for SNES, Silent Hill 2 and Star Ocean: Second Story among a few have really great soundtracks.
  14. Most memorable moment in a game:
    – 
    The ending of FF9.
  15. Scariest moment in a game:
    – 
    Scariest moment must be Doom 3, my boyfriend talked about how scary it would become right at the beginning so I kill the man that talks, close the game in sheer panic and have never started it again…
  16. Most heart-wrenching moment in a game:
    – 
    Almost all of Beyond: Two souls.
  17. What are your favourite websites/blogs about games?
    – 
    I don’t have any favorites sadly, but those I follow I find interesting.
  18. What’s the last game you finished?
    – 
    Beyond: Two souls.
  19. What future releases are you most excited about?
    – 
    There are so many but to name a few: Pillars of Eternity, Torment: Tides of Numenera and Stardew Valley.
  20. Do you identify as a gamer?
    – 
    I do, playing whenever I get the chance.
  21. Why do you play video games?
    – 
    I play to experience things that aren’t available in real life. I think it is like reading a book or watching a movie, only you are changing the path.

I got these questions from another blogger and found them interesting.
You can watch their blog “Cannot be tamed” here and answer the questions yourself.

5 responses to “Gaming Questionnaire (From the blog: Cannot Be Tamed)

  1. Must admit that I chuckled reading the part about Doom 3, personally I did not find that Doom 1 and 2 was as scary as the third one. Or was I just young and foolish back then? (Or old and chicken now perhaps? :P)

    Like

  2. 1. When did you start playing games?
    – Probably around 4 or 5, with my eldest brother showing me my first game.
    2. What is the first game you remember playing?
    – Batman on the ZX Spectrum/Commodore 64
    3. PC or console?
    – PC, but I do enjoy some exclusives for Playstation
    4. XBox, Playstation or Wii
    – Playstation all the way!
    5. What’s the best game you’ve ever played?
    – Difficult… Very difficult… For downright fun, probably Garry’s Mod. For story will have to be, off the top of my head… Too many to say! Okay, for the moment, my favourite game is The Last Of Us, but that will most likely change.
    6. What’s the worst game you’ve ever played?
    – Call of Duty (The new ones)
    7. Name a game that was popular/critically adored that you just didn’t like.
    – Call of Duty… Always.
    8. Name a game that was poorly received that you really like.
    – Dark Messiah. Loved that game, despite it did have its faults.
    9. What are your favourite game genres?
    – RPG, MMORPG, and Racing
    10. Who is your favourite game protagonist?
    – Sheriff Bigby! (From Wolf Among Us).
    11. Describe your perfect video game.
    – Telltale and Quantic teaming up… Yes, yes please.
    12. What video game character do have you have a crush on?
    – Er… I do like Tali from Mass Effect, but can’t say I’ve found any to have a crush on.
    13. What game has the best music?
    – The Last Of Us had a brilliant soundtrack, but Journey also had a moving sound piece.
    14. Most memorable moment in a game
    – A mid point in The Last Of Us that will always stick with me.
    15. Scariest moment in a game:
    – So many horrors to choose from! But the first true scare I got was probably in Outlast near the start (That fudging door…)
    16. Most heart-wrenching moment in a game.
    – Difficult to choose between The Walking Dead, The Last Of Us and BEYOND: Two Souls… I can’t make a choice, but the bit I felt most for was the ending of Walking Dead Season 1.
    17. What are your favourite websites/blogs about games?
    – None really, as most game websites are kind of biased/paid to say. Blogs however, this is my favourite Blog 😀
    18. What’s the last game you finished?
    – BEYOND: Two Souls
    19. What future releases are you most excited about?
    – Kingdom Come: Deliverance, Walking Dead Season 3 and Wolf Among Us 2.
    20. Do you identify as a gamer?
    – I believe I am! Have been playing games since I was 4 after all!
    21. Why do you play video games?
    – To go to a world that isn’t limited by real world values. On a game I can be the best I can be, without the questioning of real life. Don’t get me wrong, real life is very important, but today’s world doesn’t understand the depth of imagination a game can induce. People think art is in paintings or drawings, but I believe art comes from finding something you can relate too, in a created masterpiece that is a game.

    Like

  3. “Mix Baldur’s Gate 2 together with Planescape: Torment and add a dash of FF9.”

    This sounds very intriguing.

    It seems like we have pretty similar tastes in games, I’ll need to try Beyond: Two Souls, I did really like Heavy Rain. I’d recommend Divinity: Original Sin to you (if you haven’t played it) it’s the best RPG I’ve played after PS:T (I even liked it more than BG2).

    Like

    • I have tried Divinity: Original Sin actually and found it rather boring and kinda ugly. The story wasn’t intriguing, the characters being able to talk in the same dialogue just made me feel like it was a poor attempt on anything already made perfect.

      But that gaming questionnaire is a really fun idea 🙂

      Like

  4. Pingback: Gaming Questionnaire | Cannot be Tamed

Thanks for reading, please leave a comment!

