Hands in games, what the effing f?

Hands, why are you so iffy?

So, the other day I was discussing Heavy Rain, after I had finished playing it, with a friend and I couldn’t help but to point out the hands in that game. I have always been bothered by strange looking hands in games, sure Heavy Rain hadn’t the worst but they still look weird. They always seem to have been overlooked and just made in the last second before the game release.

Other “newer” games that has a bit of iffy hands are Skyrim, Mass Effect 3 and Dragon Age 2. I can’t help but think “How come the hands look like they do when they have such pretty and realistic faces and other things?” Hands are often strangely shaped, the textures are off or generally just… off. Am I the only one that have ever thought about it? If you have as well, do you have example of other games?

4 responses to “Hands in games, what the effing f?

  1. Pingback: Phantasmagoria, my first time trying an interactive horror point-and-click. | I Hate Loading Screens

  2. Pingback: Dragon Age: Inquisition. Hype, hype, hype… eeeh meh. | I Hate Loading Screens

  3. You are not the only one that has thought about it.

    Should I put my theory forward I think it has a bit to do with the uncanny valley.
    The developers put more resources into getting the faces to look a lot better, which then means the next thing on the list we often need to be correct (the hands) takes a turn for the worse, I would say that the theory of the uncanny valley counts for hands as well as if they seem a bit out of proportion etc we notice it.

    I would also like to point out that part of the problem is also that the hands are supposed to hold things, which makes the hands look weird some times. I’ve seen thumbs in strange angles at times.

    As for examples of a game I would like to point out most MMOs, Guild Wars 2 comes to mind.

    Like

  4. To put my two cents in, I imagine that… The reason hands look so broken/morphed, is that throughout the entire body they’re the 10 digits that will move around the most, therefore stretching textures and generally being hard to make look right while, indeed in first person, they are right in front of your face.

    Gone are the days of stuck together fingers that were permanent slappers! With each digit needing its own animations, and in first person games being probably the part you see the most throughout the game, it’s probably not that they try too little to make them… But they try to hard to make them realistic. This in turn may make the hands look good, but because the rest of the body has taken a bit of a backseat, the wrists/forearms may look out of proportion with the hands give that ‘weird’ look.

    Like

Thanks for reading, please leave a comment!

